May 18, 2008

  • Hello all again!  I know!  We're blogging 2 weeks in a row!  We are going to attempt to update our blog every Sunday!  Wish us luck!

    This week has been HECTIC!!!!!!  Bill has had a busy week with the new building.  The financials takes 6 weeks for approval, but Bill is bursting at the seams at his current location.  So he worked out a deal with the current owners to lease from them until the financials come through.  Our goal is to be fully switched over to the new building by a week from this coming Wednesday.  To make that happen, Bill has been meeting with insurance agents, IT guys, construction guys and everyone else and their mothers!  The result so far?  The building is almost unrecognizable!  We cleaned it THOROUGHLY with a super high powered pressure washer, had the carpets cleaned, all the bathrooms gutted and replaced with brand new everything, painted everything, and had furniture and wiring put in enough to house 15 or so employees in just the sales office!  We also spent 2 whole days moving stuff from storage into the new building.  Thank goodness Bill had bought a powered forklift to go with the manual one we had!  It would have taken twice as long to do what we did!  In just time saved, that forklift has paid for itself already!  And believe it or not, we still have tons more in storage and at our current building.  But look at all the progress from just one week!  The kids love it.  We take movies and toys and Bill has a 4-wheeler at the new building so they stay entertained.  There is a pretty sizable yard area at the back of the lot so we take the 4-wheeler and go off-roading back there.  It hasn't been maintained in a while, so it really is off-roading- bumpy and everything!  Both Kai and Koa love it.  Koa will ride in front of whoever is driving - Lorinda, Bill, Aaron, Kevin, or Stephen - and Kai will ride in back of the driver while holding their stomach tightly.  Its a little hapa-haole kid sandwich (Our kids are hapa-haole- it literally means half - white person)!

    On a slightly different note, because we were so busy getting the new building ready, we were unable to make it to Bill's cousin's wedding.  J.I's wedding was on Friday.  He was married in the Ogden temple in the morning, had a ring ceremony in the afternoon followed by his reception at the Chantilly Mansion in Layton.  For the record, Lorinda was ready for all three, but because kids aren't allowed in the temple, we didn't go to that; Bill needed her help with moving in the afternoon, so he called her and she had to get changed out of wedding/ wedding reception attire to grubby moving clothes.  Oh well, we sent them a gift. 

    The weather has been amazing this week!  Today was actually hot!  It was kind of nice after such a LONG winter!  We actually bought a blow-up pool for the kids.  It has a slide with arches that go over the slide that has little rods sticking out of it to play ring toss with and it also has a small basketball hoop on it too with a little blow up basketball to toss into it.  Also, the arches can connect to a hose and will spray water on you as you slide down the slide!  It is way fun.  We had Kai's friend from down the street Hailey come over and swim with us.  It was so fun.  Kai and Hailey will be taking swimming lessons this summer together so that should be fun! 

    As for Lorinda, who am I kidding.  Everyone knows its me writing this.  As if Bill were really this eloquent !  Anywho, its been really hectic for me too because I've been helping Bill out as much as I can.  We usually leave every evening around 5 to meet Bill after work and head to his new building and stay there til 10 ish.  I've also been trying to organize little by little.  I reorganized all my pampered chef stuff in my kitchen since I've been cooking so much lately.  Anyone who knew me a year or more ago would pass out if they saw how much I cook now!  Not only how much I cook but what I cook too!  In fact, I just saw a meal I cooked for Ben and Melissa when they were here in April at a restaurant!  Which was funny because when they ate it and I asked for feedback (since it was the first time I made it) Ben said "It tastes like something from a restaurant!"  I didn't know whether or not that was a good thing, but when I asked he assured me it was a compliment!  I know, silly me.  Its amazing how much I enjoy cooking!  The cleaning part - not so much.  But cooking?  Absolutely!  And its unbelievable how much easier it is when you have all the right cooking tools with good quality!  Can you smell a plug coming on?  If you have any need for good quality cookware for a good price, contact me at pamperedchef@littlelorinda.com!  There, did that suffice?  To help with my cooking, I received a GREAT gift for mother's day from Dave & Karen!  I almost fell over when I opened it.  I know you want to know what they gave me, but let me set it up for you first. 

    For mother's day, Dave and Karen had a small get together.  I asked if they wanted me to bring anything but they said they were pretty set.  I insisted and told them I wanted to try a deviled eggs with bacon recipe I had seen on Rachael Ray.  They told me I could if I wanted to but that I wasn't obligated.  So I made them!  For the first time making it, it wasn't too bad.  It tasted great, but the eggshells kinda stuck to them when I was trying to take them off so they didn't look perfect once I finished deshelling them... Oh well, I did the best I could.  Anywho, so when we got there I put my pampered chef chilled platter with the deviled eggs in them on the counter and soon, they were gone!  They were really good.  Everyone was asking where I got the recipe from so I told them about Rachael Ray.  Then they'd ask me what else I'm cooking from Rachael.  So we talked about that too!  The only downside to cooking so much though is that we are eating so much now- I tell them.  But thank goodness that Rachael Ray tries to promote healthy eating!  Anyway, and so went the night.  We ate dinner and enjoyed each others company and relaxed.  Then we pulled out the gifts.  When I opened mine, we all started laughing!  As you may have already figured out, my gift was a Rachael Ray cookbook!  Karen said that when she saw that book, she knew that was the perfect gift for me!  Its always nice receiving gifts that are thoughtful and practical! 

    Anyways, Koa needs my attention at the moment, so I'm going to have to end here.  However, I will try to upload more pictures soon!  This week will probably be as hectic as last week so I may not have time, but I haven't forgotten yet!  Until next time, a hui hou!

     

                                        Kai & Koa for xanga

     

    P.S.  This was my first page made with digital scrapbooking with my friend Sarah helping me(yes the same one from the Amazing Race application video!)

    P.S.S.   GO DAVID ARCHULETA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!